Over $90K given by HC Comm. Foundation

Community Foundation recipients Front: Dana Holkesvik, Tom Ridout, Holly Kitchen, Shirley Sovereign, Sandy Sullivan and Janice Sowers. Second: Crystal Kobliska, Rhonda Vobr, Carla Moser, Cory Schumann, Gary Gassett and Eugene Kovarik. Back: Derek Reddel, Mike Lind, Todd Knobloch, Jason Passmore, Verdell Haakenson, Neal Stapelkamp, Milan Mohn, T.J. Reicks and Ken Humpal.

Lime Springs and Chester scored big when funds were being handed out from the Howard County Community Foundation. Representatives of the different groups receiving grants were given their check on June 22 at the Howard County Fair.

The total amount requested from county organizations was $221,966.65, with only $90,142 awarded. Of that, Lime Springs-related organizations came away with $19,800 and Chester received $6,300.

Groups can ask for grant money under seven different areas, including Community Affairs and Development (CD), Human Service (HS), Education (E), Environment Education and Protection (EEP), Historic Preservation (HP), Health (H) and Arts and Culture (AC).

Groups in Lime Springs receiving grants were:

• Brown Park Improvement Project—Improvement Fund Project 2011 for $3,000 (CD)

• Community Center—Curb stops in parking lot, additional fire extinguishers and landscaping for $950 (CD)

• Swimming Pool—Replace lighting around pool for $3,000 (CD)

• Softball Committee—Replace bleachers and purchase materials to build a drag for the field for $3,000 (CD)

• Fire Department—Equipment, training and Hazmat supply inventory for $3,000 (HS)

• Library—Special programs and materials for $500 (E)

• Lime Springs Community Club—Fix up the planters around business district for $350 (CD)

Spring Ahead Learning Center LTD—Outfitting the Center for $3,000 (HS)

• Lime Springs/Chester Elementary School—Playground Basketball Courts- Hard Surface $3,000 (E)

Groups in Chester receiving funds were:

• Chester-Lime Springs Community Club for new doors and painting for $2,500 (CD)

• Partners in Progress for City beautification for $1,300 (CD)

• Chester Fire & Rescue for Radio Communication equipment, a three-year project for $3,000 (HS)

Others receiving money were:

• Cresco Membership Committee/Cresco Area Chamber of Commerce—Community beautification project along Highway 9 corridor (CD)

• Elma Memorial Hall—Expansion and improvement project (CD)

• Elma Park Board—Picnic tables, benches and garbage cans (CD)

• Protivin Fire Department—Set of rescue jacks (CD)

• Riceville Community Club—City Park shelter house phase 2 (CD)

• Riceville Fire Department—Rescue truck chassis (HS)

• Wapsi-Great Western Line—Sound System (E)

• Riceville Community School District—Swimming Lessons (E)

• Northeast Iowa Funders Network—Growing the New Food Economy in Howard County (CD)

• Cresco Community Fire Protective District—Instructional Media Center (E)

• Czech Heritage Partnership (CHP)—Insulate basement walls at Family History & Document Center (HP)

• Elma Early Childhood Center, Inc—Iowa Quality Rating Systems for Child Care Centers requirements (HS)

• Howard County Community Foundation Fund—HCCF Promotion-Transfer to HCCF Operations (CD)

• Holy Trinity Church—Playground (CD)

• Kessel Kids —Classroom Technology (E)

• Howard County Farmers Market—Marketing materials (CD)

• Howard County Business & Tourism—BBQ Competition (CD)

• Howard County Historical Society—Restoration & protection of historic Log Cabin in Beadle Park (HP)

• Howard Winneshiek Genealogy Society—Microfilm the Joshua R. Williams Diaries (HP)

• Crestwood Elementary School—iPads for Learning (E)

• Crestwood High School Media Center—Technology Hardware to update students with visual literacy (E)

• Crestwood Junior High School—Laptops for Learning (E)

• Elma Elementary Charter School—Technology CPI Student Response System (E)

• Norman Borlaug Heritage Foundation—Improvement of Borlaug birthplace farm home (HP)

• Northeast Iowa Food Bank—Mobile Food Pantry (HS)

• Notre Dame Catholic School—Interactive Whiteboard for one classroom (E)

• Community Health Services—Tetanus Immunization Initiative (H)

• Trinity Catholic School—Building Interior Renovation (E)

• Turkey Valley Community School—Community Fitness Facility (H)

Members of the Howard County Community Foundation Committee include outgoing president Wayne Kerian, incoming president Kelly Bodermann, Dawn Fairbanks, Elaine Govern, Mark Meirick, Elaine Eschweiler, Larry Norby, Dave Sovereign and Dick Wagoner.

It was mentioned that winners and checks may be announced earlier next year so volunteers will be able to plan their projects better. For example if more money is needed, the group can start fund-raising early rather than late.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s