Where were you on 9/11/01?

Dick Gates and Percy Hendrickson recall where they were when they heard of the terrorist attacks.

With the 10th anniversary of the attacks of September 11, 2001 coming up on Sunday, several folks around town recalled where they were when they first heard of the tragedy.

Jill Johnson: I was at work and we watched T.V. all day.

Dick Gates: I was on my way to work at Wykoff. An announcement came over the radio. I thought it was a stunt at first. When I got to work, I turned on the T.V. and saw the second plane hit.

Percy Hendrickson: I had just come in the house after doing chores and saw the plant hit the tower. I at first thought it was a movie. Then I watched it all forenoon.

Dustin Kraft: I was on the roof at Travis Grover’s house. . . shingling. I didn’t believe it at first. I listened to the radio for the rest of the day.

Alton Tibbals: I was at work at Kappers’ in Spring Valley. At first I couldn’t believe it and turned the radio on. It was an unbelievable thing that happened.

Vicki Ator: I was working at Featherlite. One of my friends had printed off a report from the computer and then Featherlite announced it over the speakers.

Cheryl Davis: I was on my way to work in Ostrander. My boss had turned the radio on, so instead of listening to elevator music all day, we listed to that. I’ll never forget it.

Terry Johnson: I was loading corn for Mike Bielefeld at the Schmitz place east of town. I was in my truck listening. At first I thought it was a hoax and then the second one hit and I knew it was real.

Kenny Mensink, Phoebe Klomp and Elsbeth Richter all said they were at home when they first heard of the attacks. They were all glued to the television for much of the day.

 

Leave a Reply

