2013 Election Results

Unofficial results have been released by Howard County Auditor Julie Chapman on the city elections.

Lime Springs

Nobody ran for mayor of Lime Springs, but current mayor Barb Robinson still garnered 21 votes. Jim Smith was a close second with 18 votes. It is not yet known if Robinson accepted the position. She has 10 days to give her resignation. If not, it will be assumed she is taking the position until the Jan. 7 meeting.

If she resigns, the person with the next highest votes (Jim Smith) will be asked to accept or resign, and so on.

Chapman released the other write-in votes. She explained if names were close to correct spelling, they were added, if they were not clearly a candidate the name was put down separately.

21—Barb Robinson

18—Jim Smith

8—Curt Tienter

7—Marcia Bannister

6—Gordon Dornink, James Lieder, Russ Theis

5—Donna Ihns, Kevin Bill

3—Brian Johnson

2—Randy Assmus, Tary Kolek

1— Jim Miller Sr., Barb Johnson, Butch Burnikel, Elaine Niewoehner, Bruce Moser, Heidi Trouten, David Meyer, Donna Wessling, Scott Tienter, Harold Burnikel, Raymond Murphy, Gary Wyers, Gerald (Jerry) Johnson, Arnold Bakken, Jill Johnson, Daniel Bowen, Bruce Fortney and Steven Johnson.

There were two candidates for council and four announced write-ins for three seats.

121—James D. Miller

92—Kevin Bill

70—Tary Kolek

49—Russ Theis

30—Scott Tienter

25—Brian Jessen


4—Jim Smith

3—Marc Stockman, Heidi Trouten

2—Jasson, Tienter

1—Gordon Dornink, Marcia Bannister, Koelik, Tener, Steve Johnson, T. Kolik, Curt Tienter, James Brevig, Jim Kitchen, J. Roger Lepa, Mary Bielefeld, Chalsea Carroll, Alton Tibbals, Dan Murphy, Tray, Russ, Donna Wesling, Jerry White and Corey Gates.


Two incumbents ran for two seats on council. Jacob Cray received 13 votes and Clint Fousek received 9.


Incumbent mayor Mark Bohle received 482 votes while opponent Troy Cleveland garnered 163.

Incumbent Steven A. McCarville ran unopposed and received 602 votes for Council At Large. For 2nd Ward, Incumbent Amy Bouska took 138 votes; Jeff Henderson had 101; Michael D. Huffman had 16; and Duane Omar took 33 votes.


Running unopposed, Mike Lensing took the mayor position with 60 votes.

Three seats were open on council. Milan Mohn received 52; Randy Novotny had 39; Ken Panos received 53; and write-in Kyle Stika had 46.


Jerry Steven retained the mayor’s position with 59 votes.

Terry Granahan received 58 votes to win the vacancy position.

The three remaining seats were retained by Gerald Haar with 27 votes;aAlan Johnson with 56; and LuRae Mohrfeld with 54.

(The Herald found out later Haar actually had 47 votes, which did not change the standings.)

Also on the City of Elma’s ballot was a public measure asking for authorization to use 100 percent of the one percent local sales and service tax for infrastructure, which would include streets, water and sewer and technical structures to support the city. The people voted in favor of the measure, with 42 “yes” votes to 23 against.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s