Book signing at Library

Carol Denekas’ mother, Anna Mae Edwards, and Kelly Boyle wait for her to sign their books as sister Joyce Rains assists.

Carol Denekas’ mother, Anna Mae Edwards, and Kelly Boyle wait for her to sign their books as sister Joyce Rains assists.

Carol (Edwards) Denekas made her way home on March 29 for a book signing at Lime Springs Library.

She spent an hour with the book discussion group before she met with the public. She introduced herself and gave some general background on what she has been doing since graduating.

Denekas lives in Dyersville with her three daughters and husband. She dedicated her debut novel Rescuing Love to her daughters.

“I consider myself an urban farmer. I want to do things the old-fashioned way.” She is renovating her 1918 house.

“Writing has been part of my life since I was young. I wrote my first romance novel at the age of 11. I’m pretty sure it wasn’t very romantic. I read it to my dad,” she said proudly.
“At times, writing has been my best friend. It has always been like breathing to me. I just love to write.”

Then she read an excerpt from her book and took questions. She was surprised to learn that although she wrote the book for women age 20-40 she found men have been enjoying it as well. That might be because her main character is male, an interesting concept for a first-time writer to tackle.

She also explained the process of getting published. Denekas just went online and chose a publisher that was willing to give her complete control over the writing. Her company, Tate Publishing, wanted control of the cover. Luckily, Denekas was able to work with her sister, Joyce Rains, and the porch scene at the bottom of the page is Rains.’

Her book can be signed out at Lime Springs Library or ordered online. Google Carol Denekas Rescuing Love.

Leave a Reply

